Review: Cold Burn of Magic

22715908

There Be Monsters Here. . .

It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her. . .

Finally, got a chance to start the new Black Blade series and I have to say Cold Burn of Magic was fantastic!

Cold Burn of Magic was a great start for the Black Blade series!

Jennifer Estep has once again created another wonderful world along with another awesome heroine!

In this series our heroine is Lila Merriweather who’s a 17-old orphan who’s tough and sassy like Gin Blanco of the Elemental Assassin series. Since the death of her mother, Lila has lived on her own as a thief while making sure to not attract any attention especially from the Families that rule Cloudburst Falls. That is until she unintentionally puts herself in a mob war when she saves Devon Sinclair, son of one of the two most powerful magical families in the city, from a assassination attempt by a rival family. Now she’s forced to uses her sword-fighting and magical abilities as a bodyguard to Devon which is a deadly position. 

The Black Blade series has definitely caught my interest so it looks like I have another series to follow! Overall, I highly recommend this series to anyone who’s read Jennifer Estep’s work or is looking for a new urban fantasy  series.

Looking forward to reading book 2, Dark Heart of Magic.

Leave a Reply

